Yes, you can keep the message in your inbox until you are ready to file it by changing a setting in your User Preferences.
* Choose the E-Mail tab
* Click on More Options
* Choose the Composing Tab
* Uncheck the “Complete Original Message” option
* Click OK and OK
* You message will now stay in your inboxMake sure you file it so the message will be recorded in history