The best way to handle duplicate customers (and vendors, also) is to merge them. To do this,select the Customer name you don’t want to use and in the Edit window, change the customer or job name (at the top of the window) to the same name as the entry you're combining it with. Click OK then click Yes to confirm that you want to merge the two names under the same name.
NOTE: Once you merge two customers or jobs, you can't reverse it.
There are a few situations where you can't merge a customer or job:
• You can't combine more than two names at a time.
• You can't combine customer names if both names have jobs. You must first delete or move the jobs from the customer name you want remove.
• You can't merge a customer name with a name from a different list, such as merging a customer with a vendor.