Monday, January 2, 2012

QuickBooks: Pop-Up Messages - On or Off?

QuickBooks 2012 has both good and bad pop-up messages. However, it is very annoying for a pop-up ad to happen when you are working in QuickBooks, so you must decide how to handle them..... on or off?

There are actually some good pop-up messages in QuickBooks – for example:



  • those that prompt or remind you to add a class to a transaction when you’ve forgotten and you’ve turned on the class tracking feature

  • the one that warns you when you are posting a transaction directly to Retained Earnings – which is something that you really do NOT want to do

  • the warnings that appear when you accidentally select a date that is 90 days in the past or 30 days in the future

  • the warning that will appear if you enter duplicate bill numbers for the same vendor

  • the warning that will appear if you enter a check number, invoice number, estimate number, etc. that has previously been used

For the most part messages & pop-ups can be controlled through settings in the Preferences section {Edit menu -> Preferences}; where you will find both personal and company preference settings. Only the QuickBooks Administrator can make changes to the settings in the Company Preferences tab when they are logged into QuickBooks in single-user mode.


Individual users also have some control over what messages appear. Take time to look at each option - there are many! For example, experienced users often choose:


Desktop View -> My Preferences tab and uncheck the Show Getting Started Window
General -> My Preferences tab and uncheck the Bring back all one-time messages
Turn off pop-up messages for products and services, and Show ToolTips for clipped textselect


Sales & Customers -> My Preferences and uncheck the Show Payment toolbar on Receive Payments and Sales Receipts forms if your company does not wish to add Intuit credit card or eCheck processing


Service Connections -> My Preferences and uncheck Give me the option of saving a file whenever I download Web Connect data and If QuickBooks is run by my browser, don’t close it after Web Connect is done – if you do not use Online banking


Many pop-up windows and messages have a “Don’t show this again” checkbox option, checking this option instead of just clicking the OK button will rid you of the annoying box for good; so taking a minute or so each time a window pops up can help you to make informed decisions and rid you of wasted mouse clicks later. While it is “easier” at the moment to click the OK button just to get rid of the window – it is a bad habit to get into.

Some advertising messages, you just can’t get rid of, for example the Do More with QuickBooks block on the Home page, but you can close it.

In QuickBooks 2012, Intuit has added a new “advertising” message to printed Employee Pay Stubs – you’ll now find a Powered by Intuit logo on each pay stub that you print for your employees. Only the QuickBooks Administrator can remove this logo by going to the Edit menu -> Preferences-> Payroll & Employees -> Company Preferences -> Pay Stub & Voucher Printing -> and uncheck the Print Intuit logo option.

No comments: