Monday, June 4, 2012

GoldMine : Securing User Access

Because GoldMine is "workgroup" software, we typically don't talk about restricting user access too much. But in cases where there is concern that GoldMine data may "leave the buliding", as it were, there are some simple steps we can take to ensure this does not happen.

1. Disable MASTER rights for the user in question, under Tools | Users Settings | Properties.

2. Disable right-click | Output to...   functionality for the user in question, under Tools | Users Settings | Properties | Access Tab

3. You will also want to remove some menu items from the user in question; (under Tools | Users Settings | Properties | Menu Tab
     a. Disable everything under Tools | Data Management and Tools | Databases
     b. Disable everything under Tools | Synchronize

For the most part, users shouldn't notice these items missing, other than the Output To... functionality, which is typically used heavily.


     

No comments: